Rich-text Reply

FOUC (Flashing Of Unstyled Content)

seanemmel_ba 12-30-14
Accepted Solution

FOUC (Flashing Of Unstyled Content)

[ Edited ]

Hey everyone. I'm new to Optimizely and the Optiverse but have been a developer for a number of years. I'm finding that on some clients' websites, no matter how much I condense the code, I'm still seeing a flash of unstyled content (FOUC) before the variation's changes take effect. With a particular client, we have no access to their site's code, so I cannot modify any aspect of their site whatsoever outside of Optimizely. Unforutnately, their site is littered with HTML tables and a major lack of identifying DOM selectors (hardly any IDs, classes, etc., and lots and lots of tables nested in tables nested in tables). This means that for even basic CSS changes, I'm having to use jQuery/vanilla JS, as the DOM can change, and I'm often having to climb up the DOM tree to grab specific elements. In any case, I can't seem to solve the FOUC and it is most definitely a pretty big problem. I've wrapped vanilla JS methods within the /* optimizely_evaluate... */ statements, but this doesn't really solve the issue for most cases with this particular client. I can't access their CSS to hide the <body> on their end and then show it via Optimizely JS, and I certainly don't want to use experiment CSS to hide the <body> (as it will affect all pages) if I'm making a couple small changes to one or two pages. I've tried other methods, including things listed here: https://growthhackers.com/questions/ask-gh-how-do-you-deal-with-flickering-when-ab-testing/