Rich-text Reply

Figuring if we can use Optimizely the way we want

oadaeh 06-22-16
Accepted Solution

Figuring if we can use Optimizely the way we want

Hello.

I'm new to Optimizely, and I'm trying to figure out how to use it.

The way we were planning on doing it was to do something similar to changing the page content/code based on the URL, whether differences in the path or a query parameter.  Based on my reading and searching, I don't think we can use it the way we were planning, but maybe I missed something somewhere.

It looks like the way to create and execute a test is to create an experiment in the UI/code editor, and make the page changes there with a variant, and that there is no place to just provide two URLs for comparison.

It also looks like the API is mostly (only?) for organizational data like projects and experiments, and not for manipulating the page content that is being tested.

Some of the changes we want to test would involve adding or removing fields to a form that would affect the data that is being captured, and I don't think that would be something that would be easy to do with the UI (maybe not even possible?).

Is there some documentation somewhere that would illuminate me on how to do what we are trying to do, or is it not possible?

Thank you.

Level 2

MartijnSch 06-23-16

Re: Figuring if we can use Optimizely the way we want

Hi,

I think already the first case that you want to be handled by Optimizely can perfectly be done that way as it will make sure that you can pick up the variables that you send from the query parameter. You might need to write some custom code to get this to do whatever you want but then it's also handled.