Rich-text Reply

How to create, use and delete a cookie for my specific experiment?

Nicolas_Hemidy 05-26-16
Accepted Solution

How to create, use and delete a cookie for my specific experiment?

Hi everyone,

I have an issue regarding one of my experiment and I don't have any developers available so I hope I could find some help here. 

I want to run an experiment which is a multipages experiment targeting different landing pages and then the same pages: basically we have A1 or A2 or A3 or... >> B >> C.
We have some links on the following pages (B,C..) that drive the users back to the landing page. We want to dynamically change this link depending on the landing page the users arrived on. If I landed on A2, the homepage links on B and C should drive him back on A2.
For doing that, I need to create a cookie and use this cookie with the following codes I found on the documentation. I'm not a developer and was just wondering if someone could tell me how to adapt these lines of code to my situation.

CREATE THE COOKIE >> On the landing page editor code

var setCookie = function(c_name,value,exdays,c_domain) {
c_domain = (typeof c_domain === "undefined") ? "" : "domain=" + c_domain + ";";
var exdate=new Date();
exdate.setDate(exdate.getDate() + exdays);
var c_value=escape(value) + ((exdays==null) ? "" : "; expires="+exdate.toUTCString());
document.cookie=c_name + "=" + c_value + ";" + c_domain + "path=/";
}

>> Should I need to change name and value in the argument of the function?
>> Where do I store the url? Can I use window.location.href to grab it?

USE THE COOKIE >> On the following pages editor code

var getCookie = function(name) {
var match = document.cookie.match(name+'=([^;]*)');
return match ? match[1] : undefined;
};

>> How can I access the url I stored?
>> Can I use $('a[href="/"]').attr(...);?

>> Last question, is there a way to kill the cookie on a specific action? 

Thanks a lot in advance!!

Nicolas

AllisonR 05-27-16