Rich-text Reply

How to send revenue conversation data to optimizely?

dkumar431 07-11-14

How to send revenue conversation data to optimizely?

[ Edited ]

Hi All, I am completely new to this optimizely API. My client uses optimizely from very old days. Now he wants to send the conversation data to optimizely for better results. Its a eCommerce site http://www.spinlife.com . He wants to send the amount in $ user purchased . I have no idea from where to proceed or from where to start. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

EricF 07-11-14

Re: How to send conversation data to optimizely?

Hi,

It sounds like you want to setup revenue tracking using Optimizely. It requires an addition bit a Javascript added to each page running an experiment. There's more information on it here. Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn if you need more assistance. 

http://www.linkedin.com/in/ericfoster9/

Level 2
Amanda 07-11-14

Yep, @EricF is correct, and the link he added is a helpful resource! The revenue API allows you to send the a visitor's purchase amount to Optmizely. On the results page, you'll see the total revenue for each variation, and you'll also see an average purchase amount per visitor for each variation.  Does this sound like it will do the trick for you?

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 11.58.03 AM.png

Optimizely
dkumar431 07-14-14

Thanks for the reply. I have followed the link you mentioned. 

So Basically there are 2 steps

1. I need to create a new goal with a custom event name (say 'quote_complete'), and then add that goal to all the experiments where my clients wants revenue tracking.

2.  Need to add this on thank you page.

<script>
 var price = "get it dynamically";
 window.optimizely = window.optimizely || [];
 window.optimizely.push(['trackEvent', 'quote_complete', {'revenue': price * 100}]);
</script>

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Shaunak 07-14-14

@dkumar431 That looks good to me !

Optimizely
OptimizeMe 12-02-14