Rich-text Reply

Targeting a Button / Event

Caroline 12-01-16

Targeting a Button / Event

Hello Everyone, 

I'm having a really difficult time targetting the big search button in order to conditionally activate an experiment from an action associated with the big orange "suchen" button on this page:

https://www.ausbildung.de/suche/?utf8=✓&q=&ort=&radius=20&apprenticeship_types%5B%5D=&apprenticeship...

I've tried nested targetting, different class names - but nothing will active my test. These are a few I have tried:

$('.submit').click(function(){
window.optimizely.push(['activate', 7965561117]);
});

$("form").submit(function () {
});

});

console.log(’test’);
});

Admittedly I am not a javascript developer, but I've done a couple of these before. Could anyone come up with an idea as to why none of them are working or something else to try? thanks a lot! 

Certifications, Optimizely
Level 3

CouchPsycho 12-02-16

Re: Targeting a Button / Event

Hi,

there is no experiment running on that page. I just added two listeners like you did via the console and they where triggered.

Is that experiment already running but not activated?
What do you expect to happen?

There might be an issue with event-listeners attached to the same button via another script...

Kind regards

Michael

"the essence of the creative act is to see the familiar as strange." (anonymous)
Caroline 12-02-16

Hi CouchPyscho,
Oh, sorry I think "München" or another of the keywords must be in the input fields.
Like on this page:

https://www.ausbildung.de/suche/?utf8=✓&q=&ort=münchen&radius=20&apprenticeship_types%5B%5D=&apprent...

The ultimate goal is to create a workaround, which activates manually an experiment which will make a banner image appear in the third row of the results listings.