Rich-text Reply

Finding Data Driven Ideas

Joe-Appleton 10-12-16

Finding Data Driven Ideas

I’ve been using Optimizely for a few months now and have run many experiments without achieving any results with statistical significance. My issue is that I am creating experiments using ideas off the top of my head that feel logical. I know that I need to be using actual data to find a problem that needs to be solved rather then running tests that feel logical. However, I am finding this particularly difficult to analyse the data as I only have classic Google Analytics in place with a limited budget so unable to explore third party data providers. To make it more difficult I am only using Optimizely on PPC landing pages, no further down the conversion funnel then the initial landing page. Could you help me in where exactly I should be looking in GA or any alternative approaches as I don’t have heat maps or user testing available to me? Thanks in advance.
PPC Marketing Manager at Enterprise Holdings
robertchan 10-12-16

Re: Finding Data Driven Ideas

I would recommend creating custom reports within GA. Instead of just approaching experiments with what feels logical, you could work with your historical data and correlate it with where you see conversions on your site struggling. For example, if you notice that people are leaving a certain page at a rate higher than the average of others, you could analyze time spent on pages in GA and determine what pages need testing. You should also make use of GA's custom dimensions. Such dimensions can help you segment users and build a path for them to convert accordingly. Optimizely offers a great way to integrate custom dimensions from GA with reporting so I think that that could really help you.
Robert Chan

c5wales 10-12-16