Rich-text Reply

Practising A/B testing in a volunteer capacity?

nicolastrand 07-07-15
Accepted Solution

Practising A/B testing in a volunteer capacity?

Hi all,

This is my first time in the Optiverse! I haven't yet used Optimizely myself but have seen it in action and am very impressed at how easy it seems to be to use.

I'm helping out with sorting out our company's (very messy) Google Analytics so I can produce proper analysis as to how testing will help the bottom line but until then I'm not able to practice. However I would love to be able to get some experience somehow but I'm not sure how to gain this. I have my own website however it's very new and not getting much traffic at the moment and it's really only just a blog so I'm quite limited in the sorts of testing I can do. I could quite happily spend time unpaid drawing up hypotheses and testing plans - I do this for email and would love to be able to to extend this out to web pages. So, as my company don't/can't do this at the moment i'm wondering if - and admittedly it's a bit of a longshot - anyone knows of anywhere I can do this on the side as a remote working volunteer? I'm signed up to Web Analytics Demystified and have completed two projects as a student and am currently waiting to be approved for a third, but these projects aren't that frequent. But what I do love about them is that I get to learn from a mentor, and would love to be able to get the same with AB testing webpages. I wouldn't be starting the AB testing from scratch but I would be a complete beginner with Optimizely.

Or if there are any other ways I could develop these skills whilst waiting for my company to join the testing club, any ideas would be welcome. I figured that if I haven't got the opportunity where I am, then I can at least try to make my own Smiley Happy

Thanks in advance! 

Nicola

Yeesheen 07-07-15

Re: Practising A/B testing in a volunteer capacity?

Hi Nicola,