Rich-text Reply

Google Analytics Goal Funnels & Split URL Testing?

Jason_Broderick 02-19-16

Google Analytics Goal Funnels & Split URL Testing?

Hey guys and gals, I'm brand new to this so this might be a noob question.

I use Google Analytics & Goal Tracking / Funnel Visualisation along with LeadPages for my page building. 

If I want to start doing tests between two different LeadPages then each has it's own URL on my site therefore I want to use split URL testing but how does this effect my goal in GA?

I have tried to read through all the GA integration documentation provided here before implementing anything but the documentation is really dense talking about all sorts of stuff I have no idea about but there is no mention of how it effects goals and what yuo can do to continue tracking goals. 

Is there a way I can tell Google that the test is a VARIATION of the same goal page not a completely different page. 

Or even better - is there a way I can somehow keep the URL that the visitor sees the same - with the same analytics code firing but just have optimizely display different page content? Like in an iFrame or something? Similar to how i imagine it does the usual variations just with an entire page of content?

DavidS 02-22-16

Re: Google Analytics Goal Funnels & Split URL Testing?

Hello Jason_Broderick,

Thanks for posting your question!

I understand that you are trying to use Optimizely to split test two different LeadPages. It is totally possible to achieve that. To do so, you'd target one of those pages in the Visual Editor and then redirect the variation to the other page. You can find out more about setting up redirect experiments via the following link.