Rich-text Reply

Hotjar tracking code

gd 07-22-15
Accepted Solution

Hotjar tracking code

[ Edited ]

Hi

I am NOT a coder, so this is a really low-level query!

I want to tag my hotjar recordings with the optimizely test/variation name.  Hotjar provide a code snippet for doing this:

hj('tagRecording', ['tag1', 'tag2']);

I just need to know how to add it to my variant (I am happy that it only tags the variant, not the entire experiment)

Presumably I need to be in edit code, but there is already a bunch of jquery code there, with * prefixes.

So how do I add this javascript line to the jquery code?

Apologies is this is a really dumb question Smiley Frustrated

Thanks

gd
Level 2

Re: Hotjar tracking code

[ Edited ]

Hi @gd,

Great question, and we're glad to see you're aligning a powerful third-party tool like Hotjar with Optimizely.  For the Community's benefit, here is Hotjar's tagging documentation.

You're right - you're going to need to write a little bit of code to do this, but we can actually do it in one spot for every variation on the experiment instead of one time for each variation, and that's with our Experiment JavaScript feature.  We'll still assign the right variation name for each visitor.

In order to get the current running experiment(s) and variation(s), you'll need to parse our data object, and specifically, the state object within it.  optimizely.activeExperiments lists all active experiments being seen on the page right now, and then optimizely.variationNamesMap lists the variations the visitor has been bucketed into for all experiments, not just the ones on this page.  So you need to pull out the variations for just the experiments from optimizely.activeExperiments.

For reference, here is a culled-down description of the most valuable parts of the data object, and here is sample code on how to parse this data.