Rich-text Reply

How do I test all my product pages?

alexandermay 12-30-15

How do I test all my product pages?

[ Edited ]

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Optimizely and I can't wait to run my first test.

I want to test the h1 title positioning on my product page.

I have issues with the url targeting because I can't obviously upload all the product urls.

I read that you can do something similar by selecting "Substring match" in the url selector and input the domain of the website.

Is that correct?

I also installed the JS snippet provided in ALL the pages of my website.

With this approach, I am sure that a user rthat visits the home page doesn't affect in any way the results?

Is there any more clean way?

Another question:

the goal of this test is to track clicks on "Add to cart button". Is this tracking unique? I mean, if a user adds two products on cart in the same session, how this goal will be tracked? Once or twice?

Thanks

JDahlinANF 12-30-15

Re: How do I test all my product pages?

There are several ways to do URL targetting, depending on your needs.

If you are OK with your experiment running on all pages, then you have a lot of flexibility, but your code must be specific enough to only affect your product pages, perhaps using a class on the <body> tag that is specific to only your PDP pages.

If you want an experiment to run on only certain pages of your site, you will need to discern a URL pattern that represents the page type.

I tend to use Regular Expressions for most of my URL targetting.

Can you share a handful of random product page URLs?

Hello Napoleon,

thank you for your quick reply.

Yes I figured out, I tried to match specific DOM elements that belong only to product pages.

I cant't give you any URL because there is no pattern. They could be like:

www.domain.com/iphone6
www.domain.com/samsung-galaxy
ecc

So you confirm that a user that visits a non-product page won't be calculated in the experiment?