Rich-text Reply

What is a "conversion" in Total Revenue tracking?

JamesDWitmer 01-21-16
Accepted Solution

What is a "conversion" in Total Revenue tracking?

I'm confused about the Results table for Total Revenue tracking.

If it is really tracking dollars per visitor, I would expect to see it formatted in currency, and I would expect the total number to be much higher than what I'm seeing.

Is there any chance the report is showing Conversions With Revenue?

I'm new to Optimizely, and not as technical as I wish I were. I did try to check the knowledge base, but I couldn't find an example of what the results should look like, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Joel_Balmer 01-21-16

Re: What is a "conversion" in Total Revenue tracking?

Hi @JamesDWitmer,

Revenue is unlike other Optimizely goals in that it doesn't de-duplicate, so every purchase, even multiple times per unqiue visitor (and even page refreshes) will be captured as separate events by the revenue goal. It's possible the way the goal works might be throwing your understanding of the figures being displayed. I'm not sure whether these were the help articles you found, but you may also wish to view the results page articles and the revenue goal to see if you can view this goal in the way that you need.

After that, you may also want to check some other resources, here, which include troubleshooting if your goal still looks like it's displaying / recording wrong.

I hope that helps? Feel free to post more details so one of us can help you if you have more information for us.

Cheers!

[ Edited ]

@Joel_Balmer,

Thanks very much for your help! I did see the pages you mentioned, but I re-read them as closely as I could just now.

I think I understand at least partly what's going on, but I'd love confirmation. When I first look at my Results for Revenue, I see something like this:

REVENUE / VISITORS
--------------------
Original: 10,666.29 / 975
Variation #1: 11,417.89

REVENUE PER VISITOR