Rich-text Reply

Will a redirect experiment mess with tracking in Google Analytics?

adam_paxton 02-24-15
Accepted Solution

Will a redirect experiment mess with tracking in Google Analytics?

Hi,

Very much a newbie here but my question is this:

I am looking to setup a split test of multiple thank-you pages I have built on my site. These are physical pages on the server rather than pages I have built using the editing tools. From what I have read it seems the obvious way to set this up is to use the redirect settings on the variants. However, I am concerned that because it's using a redirect it's going to give me double hits in my Google Analytics Goal tracking. Is this the case and, if so, is there a way around this?

My pages are:

mysite.co.uk/thank-you

mysite.co.uk/thank-you-sidebar

mysite.co.uk/thank-you-modal

I have a goal in Google Analytics tracking users landing on any page containing /thank-you. So this tracks my 3 variations listed above.

My plan was to setup the redirect experiment on optimizely like so:

- Set the 'original' page to be /thank-you

- Setup variation #1 to redirect to /thank-you-sidebar

- Setup variation #2 to redirect to /thank-you-modal

But I assume that all users are going going to hit /thank-you and then for some, they will be instantly bounced to /thank-you-sidebar or /thank-you-modal (and never see the original). But for these redirects I am guessing the Google Analytics tag would fire on both the /thank-you and then the final page they end on (either /thank-you-sidebar or /thank-you-modal).

So the question is - am I right in my thinking and this is going to mess with my GA tracking? Is there a better way to setup my test in Optimizely? Is there a way around this double counting in Google Analytics?

Thanks in advance for the help!

greg 02-24-15

Re: Will a redirect experiment mess with tracking in Google Analytics?